Jump to: navigation, search


58 bytes added, 06:53, 7 November 2006
no edit summary
===Weaning Complex===
The first of these [[complex]]es is the [[weaning|weaning complex]] (''[[complexe du sevrage]]'').  Taking up the idea of a "trauma of weaning," first developed by René Laforgue in the 1920s, [[Lacan]] argues that no matter how late [[weaning]] occurs, it is always perceived by the [[infant]] as coming too early.
<blockquote>"Whether [[trauma]]tic or not, [[weaning]] leaves in the [[human]] [[psyche]] a permanent trace of the [[biological]] relation which it interrupts. This life crisis is in effect accompanied by a psychical crisis, without doubt the first whose solution has a [[dialectic]]al [[structure]]."<ref>{{1938}} p.27</ref></blockquote>
===Intrusion Complex===
After the [[weaning]] [[complex]] comes the [[intrusion complex]] (''[[complexe de l'intrusion]]''), which represents the experience that the [[child]] has when he realizes that he has siblings.   The [[child]] must then cope with the fact that he is no longer the exclusive [[object]] of his parents' attention.
===Oedipus Complex===
The third and final [[family complex]] is the [[Oedipus Complex]].  After their appearance in the 1938 paper, the terms "[[weaning complex]]" and "[[intrusion complex]]" disappear almost completely from [[Lacan]]'s [[Works of Jacques Lacan|work]].  However, the [[Oedipus complex]] remains a fundamental reference point throughout, and this is complemented by a growing interest, from 1956 on, in the [[castration complex]].
==See Also==
<div style="font-size:11px" class="references-small">
[[Category:Freudian psychology]]

Navigation menu